To Vote or Not to Vote

vote

As I begin to write this blog the election is over and we all know who will be running our country for the next four years. Because of my incarceration I did not get to vote, although if I did vote I would be not be voting specifically for one person or the other, but I would be voting for the party instead. As we look at the future, it will be an interesting four years. Can  we all agree that our country needs prayers, now more than ever??

The election brings back memories of my high school days. I had just started my freshman year and was sitting in my choir class waiting for it to begin. A girl in the class stood up and asked everyone if they would be willing to take a poll for one of her other classes and to vote if they were either in favor of abortion or against it. Immediately everyone started discussing the issue with the others around them. Since I was in a brand new school and still did not know a lot of classmates, I just sat quietly listening to the others talk.

In a class full of 14-year-olds with most not really having an opinion for themselves most of the time, the individual with the loudest voice and the most popular student usually could persuade everyone to vote his or her way. Sure enough, there was a vocal and popular freshman girl in the class who was for abortion (pro-choice) and was convincing everyone why it was OK to have an abortion. While the paper to tally all the votes was being passed around, I noticed I would be the last of about 20 students to vote. As the paper passed through the row in front of me, I took a glance and was surprised to see that every single classmate that voted so far voted pro-choice. I thought surely there would be a few pro-life votes. Did this girl really sway everyone to vote her way? When the guy before me received the paper, it looked like he was actually going to be the first to vote Pro-life. After staring at the paper for a few seconds, he then said, “I don’t really care,” and caved into the peer pressure by voting for abortion like everyone else.

It was then my turn. Without any hesitation, I grabbed my pen, and with others looking over my shoulder, I marked the lone tally in the Pro-Life column. I didn’t care what people thought. And I was definitely not going to be persuaded by the girl and fall into peer pressure. High school is a time in life when we are faced with peer pressure and do what everyone else does. But on that day, I voted from my heart and what I thought was right. And it sure did feel good.

Donald Trump has been chosen by the people to become the next President of the United States. I know some are happy and others sad or angry. God says that as long as you are not forced to disobey God, you are to obey your leaders and submit to those in authority. Please continue to pray for our country and its leaders as we go into the unknown future. We don’t know what’s in store but we can do all we can to be good citizens of the United States of America. God will take care of the rest.

Leave a Reply

