Moving Day

moving-house01

The truck arrives. Friends and family members start coming over to help. Personal belongings and furniture are slowly being moved out and loaded into the truck. It’s moving day!

How many of you have ever moved? I’m sure the majority of you have, unless you’ve lived in the same house since birth, which I highly doubt during these times. People move for a number of reasons: job relocation, closer to family, college, a fresh start in life, downsizing, need for more space, safer neighborhood, a good deal on a different house, location, the urge to move, etc. etc etc. And the list goes on and on. Some people move across town, some across the state, and some across the country – even the world. But people always have their reasons for moving.

The first eighteen years of my life, until I went away to college, I lived in the same house. In fact, my parents are still in that same house that I grew up in, living there for over 40 years. Once I went to college, it seems like I have been on a constant move year after year. Since 1998 I’ve moved a total of thirteen times. And these thirteen moves all took place between 1998-2012. I’ve averaged just less than one year and two months per location in those fifteen years. My longest stay was four years in one spot, and my shortest stay was five months. I’ve moved for all sorts of reasons as mentioned above. I don’t necessarily like to move, but I don’t mind it either, knowing that a new chapter in my life is underway.

I’ve had my share of moves here in prison also. Since being incarcerated in March of 2013 I’ve had a combined total of fifteen different rooms, cells, jails, or prisons. I can’t even count or probably even remember the number of different cellies (roomies) I’ve had. Some of the moves have been quite simple, while others have been a pain. An easy move for me was going from a jail to a prison. I was not allowed to take anything with me except the clothes on my back, so no packing was required. Going from prison to prison, an inmate packs all his belongings ahead of time, and ships it out in hopes the stuff will be there upon his arrival at the new location. Of course, an inmate is still limited in what they can and can’t bring. I was in “the hole” (solitary confinement) right before leaving Yazoo City, MS, so I did not get a chance to pack my stuff.  A prison worker packed it for me. Some of my stuff was missing when it arrived at my new prison three months after me. So the move was easy, but getting my stuff was a pain.

Moving from cell to cell inside the prison or even from building to building can be quite hectic. A while ago I wrote a blog on “Stuff”. And in the blog I described what kind of stuff an inmate can accumulate. Being in this same prison for two years now, I have actually accumulated a lot of stuff. Most of this stuff I would never keep if I was outside of prison, but here an inmate is always in need of the little things. When we find something interesting, we keep it. A few things we like to keep are springs from a pen, empty toilet paper rolls, any sort of plastic bags, or empty plastic food or medicine bottles. When I move to a different cell or building in the same location, I have to neatly pack everything into large laundry bags that could weigh close to fifty pounds after filled to capacity. I guess I could just throw everything in a bag if I wanted to, but since I was raised by the pack Nazi himself (my Dad HA!) he taught me how to properly pack, cramming everything in the smallest of spaces with as much order and neatness as possible to conserve space. After packing the bag I get a couple of other guys to help me make the trek across the compound to my new place. I know it sounds fairly easy but you have to remember that prisons in Texas have no air conditioning so a summer move in 100 degrees plus temperatures is brutal. One may also be moving from a larger locker to a smaller locker so downsizing is a must. And adjusting to a new cellie and neighbor and their routines can be challenging. Change in prison isn’t the easiest for some people; some struggle with it, while others do great. Thankfully, I’m OK with it and can adjust with ease.

The reason I’m writing about moving is because there is a good chance I’ll be moving buildings once again. The compound wants to put all past program participants in the same building to keep us together. I like the building I’m in now and the guys around me, so I’m not looking forward to the move, especially in the summer, but it will be one step closer to my freedom. Hopefully, this will be my last move until I’m outside these prison walls.

The last thing I want to say is that when I think of moving I think of the Bible verse in Matthew 28:19 “Go and make disciples of all nations….” This verse means to me to move around to all parts of the world, telling others the Good News wherever you go. Maybe that is why God has me moving around so often. Why does He have you moving? Is His work for you finished where you are and He needs you to move on to the next place? Wherever I move to in my future……here in this  prison or when I leave here…. I want to consider what God needs from me at this specific location. God can work even in the moves we make in life.  I know it’s true for me in the different places I’ve been since incarcerated. Each time I move there are people watching me and seeing me pray and reading my Bible and asking questions about my faith. Hopefully, I’ve planted seeds in each place I’ve called home. God is at work and can use you right where you are!!!

Leave a Reply

