What Does My Future Hold?

future

This week in all the federal prisons across the United States it is National Re-Entry Week. It’s a week when re-entry programs are taking place throughout the prison system. Every day there are programs that are dedicated to a certain area that may help an inmate when leaving a prison. I have attended half-way house programs, chapel programs, and health and fitness programs. It’s a great way to start thinking about jobs, life goals and changes that need to be made to better one’s life.

As my time gets closer to the door, I have been thinking, and others have been asking, what I want to do with my life once I leave prison. Attending these programs this week really got me thinking about my future, and how exciting it’s going to be to start my life all over again. God has definitely given me a second chance to better my life and to live a life more for Him. I’m looking forward to it!

My future is fuzzy. As I write this, I really have no clue what type of job I will find. I know there is a chance that it might be very hard to find a great job with the word “felon” tacked on to my name. When I first get out, I might have to resort to flipping burgers, washing dishes, or even cleaning bathrooms. Now I know there’s nothing wrong with those jobs, but I want to find something else. My job applications could very easily be passed up or placed in the “Do Not Hire” pile due to my past. I may not pass the interview when they ask why I haven’t worked the past few years. There are so many unknowns at this time. All it takes is for that one person to give me a chance, and I know I’ll be able to prove my worth. If you’re that person, please let me know! I won’t disappoint you!!

Ideally, I would love to work my way up the line in the golf course industry. I had such a great time during that one year before getting locked up, working on the maintenance crew at a local course in St. Louis. I could definitely see myself working in the offices at a pro shop, or who knows…. maybe finding a job working for the PGA tour down the road. Anybody have any connections they could pass on to me?

The good part about my life is that God has it all figured out. No matter where I land a job, it is exactly where God needs me to be during that point in my life. I am eager to see what is out there for me. Who knows? God could be leading me down the path that never in my wildest imagination I could ever see myself doing. But if it’s what He wants, I will follow. All I know is that when I get out of here, I want to serve the Lord more, putting Him first in my life, and continue growing in my relationship with Him. Hmmm….…..now that I think about it, maybe He wants me to be in the ministry? I could totally see myself taking His Word with just the clothes on my back, to the deepest rain forests in the Amazon. Now that would be awesome!! But whatever comes my way, I’ll do my best, and let God do the rest.

“Serve wholeheartedly, as if serving the Lord, not man.” Ephesians 6:7

Leave a Reply

