DONUTS!!

donutsBecause I talked about food in a recent blog, I’m going to continue on with the topic and tell you a story about my love for donuts. While growing up once a week….usually on a Sunday morning….we would have a Donut Day breakfast. On those mornings I would wake up super early before everyone else because I wanted to get first dibs at my favorite donuts to eat. Of course, I was only limited to three or four at each sitting. Just kidding! But I knew the day would eventually come when I could buy and eat unlimited amounts of my favorite food!

It was the year 2000, the summer before my junior year in college. I was working at Kanakuk Kamps, the largest Christian sports camp in the world. It seems like a lot of my stories evolve around my Kanakuk Kamp years. These were some of my favorite summers, both as a camper and a counselor. At dinner one evening, the chow hall was serving sloppy joes, along with some sides and a dessert. We never knew what the dessert was going to be until it would be placed on the counter halfway through the meal. So when my co-counselor and I saw that it was donuts, we looked at each other and decided it was time for a little friendly competition. We wanted to see who could eat the most donuts before leaving the chow hall.

Now the donuts they were serving us were identical to Krispy Kreme glazed donuts, except a generic name brand. But the size, look, and taste were all similar. Since our group of campers was the last group to eat, there were plenty of extras, too. So we could eat as many donuts as we wanted to. Now I’m not a big guy….tall and skinny actually. My co-counselor has the same build. And we both already had some food in our belly before the competition began. We started eating donut after donut. We decided to keep the amount of donuts consumed to ourselves until the very end and then say how many we ate simultaneously. This competition was a dream come true.

Chow was nearing the end, and clean-up was underway, but we still kept popping donuts in our mouths. I started to sweat really bad with the amount of sugar I was taking in, and I felt like I was about to pop. But the other counselor kept eating, so I knew I had to continue on. As clean up was winding down and the chow hall was clearing out, the donuts were being put away.  When the last of the campers and counselors left the hall my co-counselor happened to find a few more donuts, and started shoveling them into his mouth. There was no way I could let him beat me. I wouldn’t hear the end of it. So my adrenaline kicked in, I jumped behind the counter and smashed a few more donuts. Finally, with donuts still in our mouths we were forced to leave the hall so it could be locked up.

Miraculously, I didn’t feel sick. I was just dripping with sweat and felt I was about to explode. As we exited the chow hall, the moment of truth was upon us. I for sure thought this was in the bag. As we counted out loud to three, we both said our numbers at the same time. He said 29 and I said 27. I lost. I couldn’t believe he beat me by two!!  But I didn’t care, as it was just for bragging rights anyway and turned out to be a lot of fun.

I also couldn’t believe I was able to eat 27 donuts in one sitting. Donuts are good, but excessive donuts – just like anything in life – are not so good for you. To this day I still think about that memory every time I eat a donut. It’s a moment I’ll never forget, and will probably never do again. But….my love for donuts is still the same as it was as a kid, so who knows what may happen. I wonder if 28 donuts is a feasible goal in my future donut-eating. Anybody up for a friendly competition! HA!

Leave a Reply

