Let’s Eat!!

t-bone steakI love to eat. Who doesn’t enjoy a good meal! The aroma of a pizza or brownies fresh out of the over; biting into a fresh strawberry or watermelon in the summertime; cream oozing out of an oversized cream puff.  It gets me every time. I absolutely love sweets. Not so much candy (although I can always eat a Butterfinger), but the pastries, cakes, and donuts. Unfortunately, my life in prison doesn’t allow a whole lot of opportunity to eat my favorite foods or sweets.

pizzaPizza is my favorite food, with Pecan Pie being my favorite sweet, although gooey butter cake is a close second. However, here in this place, I cannot choose what gets served at meal time. The only option we have is whether or not we want to go to chow or not. Most of the time I do go, although the meal is hardly filling. But it does hold me over until the next meal. And no, the food is not like the mush you see on prison movies. It’s more like the hot lunches we would eat at school as a kid. However, during a holiday, the prison splurges a little and feeds us very well. They feed us a meal according to the type of holiday it is. For example:

Thanksgiving: turkey, ham, stuffing, sweet potatoes, cranberries, pecan pie, etc.

4th of July: hamburgers, hotdogs, brats, corn on the cob, etc.

Martin Luther King Day: chicken, collard greens, cool-aid, etc.

Cinco de Mayo: burritos, tacos, enchiladas, etc.

Yes, it is comical to see grown men get excited about the kind of food we are served, but it’s the little things in life (Ha!), and I do feel stuffed afterwards. Of course, you have to hope the food doesn’t run out by the time your building arrives…..that has happened and it is so disappointing.

We also have the option of buying extra food at the commissary (small convenience store with various food, clothing, and hygiene items). Some inmates take full advantage of that and can cook extravagant meals with the small amount of food they can purchase. Of course, it costs money and it’s not cheap. And with me making a mere 17 cents an hour (or $22 each month), I buy only what I absolutely need.

Before coming to prison I was blessed to have a fridge and pantry full of food. I could eat when I wanted to, and often did. When I was hungry I ate. When I was bored, I ate. Or I would open up the fridge every ten minutes to see if something new would pop out at me that I never saw before. I’m sure most of you can relate.

Food was always at every social gathering and events. It was everywhere. My diet has drastically changed while being locked up, and for the better I believe. I feel the last few years have prolonged my life down the road as I get older. I no longer eat those greasy or fried foods and hardly ever eat sweets. I must say I do miss them, but feel great at the same time, and I can certainly do without them. I guess we’ll see what happens when I get out of this place!

Leave a Reply

