Driving Force

Everyone’s life is driven by something. It could be an event, a relationship, or something that excites you. The word drive is defined as “to guide, to control or to direct.” Whether you are driving a car, a nail, or a golf ball, you are guiding, controlling and directing it at that moment.

drivenAs a person gets older or circumstances occur in your life, a driving force can change. I know my drive has changed from when I was younger to where I am right now. It has changed to fit me as who I am as a person today. I am not the same as I was even just a few short years ago, and definitely not the same person I was a decade or two ago. If my family and friends were asked what they thought my drive is today, I believe they would answer God. But if they were asked the same question ten or fifteen or even twenty years ago, I believe they would respond by saying “sports.” I would agree with both of their answers.

Sports were my life when I was younger. I would always put my sports first. They would get me fired up and filled with excitement day after day. I played numerous sports while growing up…..soccer, basketball, baseball, track, golf, water polo, volleyball, biking. I loved watching all sports. And I hated to lose at any of them or see my teams lose. In college and after college I strived to be the best at everything I did, even if it was just a Trivia or Scrabble game, and would let others know if I had won and if I was “the best.”

But now, after coming to prison, I know they can see a different person in me. I don’t want to be that guy who brags or boasts or has to be first. I want to be that guy who puts others first, caring about the needs of others over my own, especially among my peers here in prison. So if my family and friends answered the question as to what drives me now, the answer “God” is right on.

If I were asked the same question about myself, “What do I think is my driving force in life,” it would be (1) God first (2) God’s creation (the great outdoors), and (3) helping others as best I can. It definitely has changed from when I was younger to where I’m at now, and all for the better. God has become my number one! I try my best every day to put Him first with everything I do, whether it is the willingness to help others out or to just sit in solitude enjoying what God has created for me. These things motivate me and drive me to lead a life devoted to Him. I do want God to be the center of my attention day after day. I strive for Him and want His continuous and abundant love. I want to give back just as much as He has given me. And I want to love others as much as He loves me. God is my drive. To love others is my drive. And to witness is my drive. Because of these three drives, I know my life is going somewhere and has a purpose far greater than I ever could imagine.

Let me leave you with one final thought. Everyone wants to be remembered when they’re gone. Ultimately, what matters most will not be what others say about your life when you die, but what God says about you. How will you answer God when He asks, “What did you do for my son Jesus while you lived the years I gave you” and “How did you use the gifts I gave you?”

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to the power that is at work within us. Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

