The Ultimate Work-out Partner

working-out-iStockphoto-92371742Every Monday night seven other guys and I get together for an hour of some cross-fit training exercises. We do different kinds of push-ups, burpees, pull-ups, abdominal workouts, leg squats, and sprints, plus other things besides. If you are not sure what cross-fit training exercises are, check out this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eGgWEr-Vv8

OK, maybe we are not going at it to that extreme, but to be perfectly honest, the exercises absolutely kill me! The seven other guys have been doing this for some time now and are well seasoned. They are all well-advanced compared to my beginning efforts. Somehow, I got suckered into working out with them.  I’ve always been an athletic person and can play many sports, but these are extremely tough. Even though these exercises are way more advanced than I can handle, I know it’s good for me to try them, and it’s only going to make me stronger and more fit in the end.

There is no way I could ever do this kind of a workout without the motivation, drive, and ToughMudderNE-1024x682encouragement from the seven others. They will not let me quit, but make me finish every repetition and set just like them. Because of that, things are getting easier for me. As
much as I hate it, I enjoy it all the same. Maybe when I leave here, my next Tough Mudder Challenge will be a breeze!!

I do know that if I was doing these cross-fit training exercises on my own, there is no way I would do a third of what we do. I would quit time and time again. But doing them with at least one person, let alone seven others, makes it that much easier.

Now compare that to life: with God in your life, life is that much easier as well. He doesn’t let you quit when times get hard. He pushes you further and further to the end, to persevere. He is with you every step of the way. He doesn’t want to see you fail. He wants us to use Him, lean on Him and rely on Him during decisions we make, during the tough times, and even during the good times. God is the ultimate work-out partner. He will help you succeed to the end.

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

1 thought on “The Ultimate Work-out Partner”

  1. I love it that you are involved with a good group of motivational friends! The number 7 is perfection … and with you, the additional one in the group is 8, which is the number for “new beginning”! Is that a coincidence? I think not! And, Craig, your teaching commentary indicate your growth in the Lord … You are in this place, by no mistake, for such a time as this! God is truly being glorified and He is using you to magnify His Name … making His Name FAMOUS through your life! Good job, faithful servant and little brother in Christ Jesus! Have a wonderful week! Love and Blessings! – Darlene

    Like

Leave a Reply

