A Year to Remember

2014-2015As I reflect back on the year 2014, here is what transpired.

  • Spent the month of January and first part of February at a County Dentention Center serving my County/Federal sentence. My sentence actually began on March 22, 2013.
  • Spent three weeks in February at the Federal Transfer Center, waiting to be assigned to a federal prison.
  • Survived a few short days in March at a medium security federal prison before placing myself in protective custody due to threats on my life.
  • Spent 159 days in “the hole” at that same federal prison.
  • Spent one night in August at the Federal Transfer Center waiting to be transferred to a new prison.
  • Arrived August 31, 2015 at the low security federal prison where I am at this moment.

Four federal prisons, one county jail, six different cell mates and many miles on an airplane and bus. How was your 2014? Was it all you hoped for and more? Were you able to take time to travel the country and enjoy the scenery like I was? For me, this was a definitely a year of many changes, challenges and new faces. It was a year of ups and downs. It was a year I put my trust in God more than ever. It was a year my faith-life and relationship with God grew to an all time high.

Entering a new prison is like going into the depths of hell. No, I don’t know exactly what hell is like; I’m sure it’s much worse! But when I entered the medium security prison I was surrounded by murderers, liars, thieves, and drug dealers. The book of Revelations in the Bible describes who will be found in hell. The cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderous, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic acts, the idolators, and the liars- their place will be in the lake of burning sulfur. Rev 21:8

That place felt like hell to me, but the good thing was that God was walking along side me the entire time. He was my shield and protector. Even though I walk the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil for You are with me, Your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

When I was in the hole on those dark nights, He was my comforter. Praise be to the God and Farther of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion, and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

When I traveled from prison to prison, He was my guide and leader. He never left me. All I had to do was reach out my hand and He would take hold of it and lead me the right way. As the year progressed my life seemed to get better and better. God has placed me at an amazing compound where I can enjoy the benefits of His love. He called me out of the darkness into his wonderful light. 1 Peter 2:9

The year started off uncertain and scary, but as my faith-life grew, the year kept getting better and better.  Cast all your worries upon him because he cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7.

And now we are in a brand new year. 2015 has started off great so far. The time absolutely flies by. I’m surrounded by guys that get along together, a great full time job which I enjoy (making 17 cents an hour,,,,I know you are jealous HA!), a great room and roommate, a loving family and friends that I talk to quite often, a bed with two pillows, and a God who is loving, comforting and protecting. Life is truly good right now! If life is great now; I can only imagine what life will be like when I’m free. And I can only imagine what life will be like in heaven!

May God be with you and bless you all this upcoming year. Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine according to His power that is at work within us . Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

