Tis the Season

snow-report-headerHave you ever ventured out to the middle of nowhere, all by yourself, not a single person or man-made object around, and just observed God’s creation and love for us?  Have you ever had those moments when you are surrounded by 10-15 of your friends, with everyone smiling, talking, laughing, and having a good time? Have you ever witnessed a birth or your son’s first Little League hit or enjoyed a family vacation? These should be moments of thankfulness!

What is thanks? Thanks is defined as expressing gratitude or appreciation. Although I have many things to be thankful for, one thing I’m particularly thankful for are my five senses. Imagine not having one of them. It would be tough, wouldn’t it? I absolutely love the outdoors and could not imagine not seeing the snowcap Rocky Mountains, the smell of pine trees, the taste of snow on my tongue, the sounds of river rapids, or the feel of sleeping on the forest floor. Ever hear (yep, using one of your senses!) the song “Indescribable” by Chris Tomlin? Check it out now! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yQW_4zNt_w It’s a great song describing God’s creation.

I can remember one winter when I went skiing in Breckenridge, CO. I decided to venture off the beaten path and do a little backcountry skiing by myself. Within minutes, I was completely away from all civilization. I came to a clearing when the snow just started falling. I stopped skiing and paused to take in my surroundings. The gentle sound of the falling snow. The picturesque view of the snow covered pine trees. The intimidating height of the snow filled mountains. The smell of the mountain air. I wondered if heaven would look like this. I sure hope so! To not be able to have one of my senses in such a time as this would be tough.

I must say that God is pretty cool to design our bodies in a way so that we can enjoy all He created – the sights, sounds, taste, touch, and smells of the world. He definitely knew what He was doing. And for this, I am truly thankful!

During this holiday season, I encourage each of you to take time to think about all the things you are thankful for. Tell your family and relatives that you are thankful for what they do for you. Give some encouraging words to your boss or a co-worker. But most importantly, give God the praise He deserves for what He has done in your life. Give thanks in all circumstances. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

****Thank you, my family and friends, for your love, support, letters, encouraging words, and prayers during this time in my life. It’s people like you that make my situation that much easier. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!*****

Leave a Reply

