Craig’s Journal Entries

Portions of Craig’s journal at Racine County Jail

Entry # 1. 11/15/2013. Day 29
Beginning a new journal since I have now been at the Racine County Jail for 4 weeks now as I await my next court date on December 16. It’s a completely different place compared to the detention center; lots of negatives, but a few positives like email and vending machines, although I’ve only used the machines once. I lead a Bible study with 4 guys on a daily basis, and I do a lot of reading and scrabble playing. Guys are OK, but lots of kids. God is definitely in control and He wants me here for a reason. Ain’t never giving up on Him!!

Entry #2. 11/16/2013. Day #30
I’m so hungry. I feel like I’m wilting away.

Entry #7. 11/21/2013. Day #35
Mail has been coming in, as well as email. It’s nice to feel the love.

Entry #12. 11/26/2013. Day 41
Not a good sleep last night. But I guess it’s never good in this place. I’m just so cold and tired all the time. I do my best to keep up with the good attitude. My eyes are about shot, too, with my contacts. I feel like there is a needle in my eye. I put in a request to get my glasses from the detention center. I pray they get here soon and in one piece.

Entry #14. 11/28/2013. Day 43
Happy Thanksgiving! So many things to be thankful for. I thank God that He has me where I am today. I am happy where He has me and an extremely happy I am being used in ways to give glory to God. I am thankful for a wonderful God. Of course, I wish I was around family and friends, but I’m surrounded by new family and friends today. I pray that He can continue to use me in ways to help others get through this holiday season. To Him all the glory.

Entry #16. 11/30/2013. Day 45
Last day of November! I think mornings are the best thing God has created. It’s always hard to get up in the morning, but it’s the most peaceful when I sit down for my quiet time. Everyone is sleeping. I only wish I could see outside, watching the sun rise, overlooking the mountains or the oceans. God is good. I’ll soon be out of here. I pray I can get into a great normal routine in prison.

Entry #28. 12/2/2013. Day 47
It’s amazing the type of talk that goes on in jail. All everyone wants and talks about is sex. They’ve done so many worse things than my crime; yet I get punished for it and they don’t at all. It makes me sick to my stomach. I wish people were realize what goes on out there. I do wonder, why, God, why me? Why must I be punished for the rest of my life and the majority of the people get a slap on the wrist? I’m frustrated with it all and continue to pray good comes out of it. I won’t lose my faith, and I pray for miracles with those people who judge and not forgive. It hurts, Lord, I pray for miracles.

Leave a Reply

