Book Recommendation

May 29, 2014

voice in the windI just finished reading “A Voice in the Wind” by Francine Rivers which was recommended and sent to me by my aunt. It is truly an amazing book, one of the best I’ve ever read and one that everyone should read. Briefly, it’s about a Jewish Christian girl witnessing to non-Christians during the time Nero was persecuting the Christians. Times then were not so different than they are now and it helped me to learn how to handle similar situations today! It’s a novel but one that gave me the desire to be used by our Lord.

After finishing the book yesterday, I was on fire to tell everyone about God. But who could I tell, in solitary confinement? I got to thinking about how well I know my cellie? I’ve lived with him for 76 days and haven’t really taken the opportunity to ask him about his walk with Christ. I should say there’s been plenty of opportunities but I, unfortunately, passed on them. No time seemed to be the right time to bring up the subject…..and first I wanted to develop a relationship with him before I started preaching at him! And I wanted him to watch how my faith helped me get through each day. Actions sometimes speak louder than words. I prayed that God would give me the right time to talk to my cellie about God. And then I started watching for opportunities.

The next day the topic of heaven came up between us, so I used this opportunity to find out more about his beliefs. I know he believes in God, but found out that he wasn’t sure if he was going to heaven or not. I was able to quote Romans 10:9 If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead,you will be saved. I then shared about God’s forgiveness and love. He asked many questions. God provided me the answers, and I encouraged him to pray and think about our discussion. So please pray for David to find the Lord and to accept Him into his heart. God is most definitely good and I thank Him for allowing me the opportunity to share His love with my smelly cellie!!!

Leave a Reply

