Journal Entries Cont’d

Portions of Craig’s journal which he began on Day 37 of his incarceration at a county detention center.

Entry #114. 8/19/2013. Day 151
I’ve been reading a great book called “In the Eye of the Storm” by Max Lucado. Very inspirational. God is definitely working in me. I told a new inmate today that I’m going to pray for him. The look in his eyes was priceless. We do have some crazy, immature, mentally unstable people in here, but God is making me stronger every day. I wonder what my future is going to be like. I’m excited to find out.

Entry #117. 8/22/2013. Day 154
It’s my 5 month anniversary today. Another one down; a few too many to go. Been having some great conversation with an inmate named Lee. He’s in here for a homicide. Sad Story. But he’s gotten to know the Lord at another level and has turned his life to Christ. He’s a great guy and I know God has some amazing plans for him. God is good.

Entry #126. 8/31/2013. Day 163
First day of college football, and NFL starts on Thursday. I’ll definitely miss Fantasy Football this year. Weekends should fly by, so that’ll be good. One day at a time. Church was great today. Someone new asked me if I wanted to lead worship and play guitar if we get the approval to start up a worship team. I pray for that miracle. God is good!

Entry #132. 9/6/2013. Day 169
We had a shakedown done on us today. They were much nicer and cleaner without stuff this time than last time, although they took the majority of my clean clothes for some odd reason. I am left with only one underwear and one pair of socks for a week. I put in a request to hopefully get them back. It’s like the CO’s thrive on making others suffer. So sad. But Jesus still loves them.

Entry #137. 9/11/2013. Day 174
9/11 anniversary – 12 years ago today. Crazy! Thank you to everyone who fights for our country. We got locked down early for a fight in our dorm. Kids always thinking they are better than each other. We older guys in here just shake our heads at how immature these kids are. Started reading Proverbs today. Very good so far. Wish I had a Bible dictionary.

Entry #141. 9/15/2013. Day 178
I was able to talk to almost all family today at Mom & Dad’s house when I called. It was the first time hearing their voices in six months. I miss them all. Thank you, Lord, for that moment. Eva and Kendall sang to me. Good day of watching football, although the Rams lost at Atlanta. Thanks for everything, Lord!

Entry #142. 9/16/2013. Day 179
I started writing my apology speech today. I pray that God leads me in the right direction, and it’s very impactful to the judge. Nothing exciting today.

Leave a Reply

