Making a Difference

make a differenceWhile I was doing my morning Bible reading this past week, two guards came to my door and told me to get ready as I was going to see the psychologist. I got ready quickly and because I’m living in “the hole” and am considered one of the most dangerous inmates at Yazoo City, I had to be cuffed and shackled in order to walk 200 feet down the hallway. Imagine that! I know some of you are laughing right now because when you have the words “dangerous” and “Craig” in the same sentence, you know that is the complete opposite. All I can do is roll my eyes and smile and take it for what it is.

So I did my shuffle and slide routine as I left the cell. It’s not a walk when your feet are shackled together and are only separated a foot apart. I wondered if I should do the Bunny Hop. That would either get some laughs or an added escape charge for moving too quickly. I kept to the shuffle and slide down the hallway and thought about why I was meeting with the psychologist. Will this be good or bad? Is this part of my case? Maybe she’s going to tell me I can go home!! Miracles do happen!!!

I eventually shuffled my way to the room, sat down, and she started rattling off a bunch of questions about me as a person and my self-being. I answered them honestly and as best as I could. The best question she asked was at the end of our time together. “What kind of change do you want to make in your life to make a positive influence on others?”

I thought about it for a few seconds and then broke out into a big smile. “I want to share the love of Christ to others by my actions, my words, and with everything I do. I want others to see the joy I have inside of me. I want to encourage and compliment others on a daily basis. I want to show my love so that others will know who I’m living for. “Let your light shine before men that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:16.

That’s what I told her. Shocked, she then asked, “Well, do you have any specific examples on how to do that?” I was able to give her examples and will give you examples also because then and now I’ve got the joy down in my heart….isn’t that a song? I want to walk by random people on the street, smile at them, look them in the eye and greet them pleasantly. I want to help a stranger change his tire on the side of the road or help push a car that has run out of gas. I want to compliment and uplift the clerks in the stores that work the cash register just because they don’t hear it enough. I want to leave that over-size tip at a restaurant to the server because they have waited on me. I want to go to a nursing home or retirement home and start chatting with the people living there because I care. I want to celebrate with family and friends on birthdays because it’s a special day for that person and they need to feel important. I want to be there for friends who are going through joyous times and sad times. I want to leave random notes of encouragement in people’s mailboxes. I want to pay for the person’s meal behind me in the drive through line. I want to buy a homeless person a meal. I want to love, love, love.

With that being said, she had no more questions. I got up and shuffled myself to my cell, wondering what that was all about. I’ll probably never know. But it did feel good telling her what kind of positive influence I was going to make. Maybe now she understands better who I am.

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.” 1 John 3;16

What kind of life are you living? Can people see the love of Christ in you by your words and actions? Do you need to make changes? If so, now is the time to start. Doing random acts of kindness is a great way to show our love. I have not always done this in the past….it was all about me. But I’m changing; God is changing me where I’m at. I’m a better person through what has happened to me – I hope you think so, too. Someday you will see for yourself who I am and I pray you will see my love of God and my love of you by the way I live my life for the rest of my life. “Dear children, let us not love with words or tongues, but with actions and truth.” 1 John 3:18

2 thoughts on “Making a Difference”

  1. I find it completely ironic that being in the Hole translates to being a dangerous criminal. Craig chose that path to flee from those planning to attack him. I am proud you are living how Christ did amidst persecution on a daily basis. Stay strong!! Take heart He has overcome the world and so will you.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful testimony of Christ in your life, Craig! Yes, it will be interesting to see if that meeting is fruitful … maybe a much-needed witness for her … perhaps she is the one who needed the encouragement and didn’t realize it until you met with her! His Word doesn’t go void … and you shared it! So, very proud … impressed, actually …Craig! Continued prayers and thoughts coming your way! Press on! Darlene Date: Mon, 5 May 2014 11:54:57 +0000 To: ddhrma@msn.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

