My Lifetime Goals – as of today 4.27.14

runningWelcome back! I know you were all anxiously waiting to see what kind of goals I have set for myself, so the much anticipated wait is finally here. Eric, I just know you were losing sleep over it!!

Being in prison, I do a lot of thinking. Being in “the hole” I do even more thinking. I was able to create a pretty decent list of goals (or bucket list) that I’ve wanted to do for some time now, and even new goals I just recently came up with. Some goals I even feel God is calling me towards. I consider myself a risk-taker, so some of my goals might cause you to shake your head and say, “yea, right.” But I’m also a person who has a passion and love for the Lord, so you might say, “I can see you doing that.” Yes, I do know that some of these things are far-fetched and could require some financial stability to achieve. But my God is a huge God. I put my trust and faith in Him more than ever now, and continue to give Him all the glory in all aspects of my life, whether good or bad. “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13. If it’s God will, He might just help me achieve some or all of these goals. I’m looking forward to checking off each one when they are completed!

Here is what I would like to accomplish in my life for the rest of my life (in no particular order)

• Run a marathon
• Compete in an iron-man triathlon
• Get married
• Raise a family
• Go on a mission trip to a 3rd world country
• Backpack through Europe
• Share my faith/testimony in front of 1,000 people
• Share my faith/testimony in front of 5,000 people
• Run a 6 minute mile at 40 yrs old
• Run a 6 minute mile at 50 yrs old
• Run a 6 minute mile at 60 yrs old
• Give a message at a church service
• Climb Mt. Denali (McKinley) in Alaska
• Run a Christian backpacking outfitter company
• Own a house on a body of water
• Go on a cruise
• Run a 5k at 70 yrs old
• Run a Christian retreat center
• Ride a horse (never have!)
• Bike up Mt. Evans CO (again)
• Go crab fishing in Alaska
• Go to the Olympics (only as a spectator)
• Golf at Pebble Beach
• Go skiing at Lake Tahoe NV
• Memorize over 1,000 verses and 25 chapters in the Bible
• Start a charity
• Bike the entire Katy Trail through MO and back
• Tithe at least 10% every week
• Go spelunking
• Lead worship at a church service
• Lead Christian groups on Adventure trips
• Bring the Word of God to a remote village
• Write a worship song
• Ride in a hot air balloon
• Snorkel the Great Barrier Reef
• Scuba dive
• Stay in a hostel
• Go to a World Series baseball game
• Get a hole-in-one (not putt-putt)
• Meet the President of the United States
• Sleep overnight in a castle
• Start up a volunteer organization
• Kayak down a waterfall (size To Be Determined)
• Go deep sea fishing
• Go to a Super Bowl game
• Go on an African Safari
• Skydive
• Bungee jump
• Go on an ocean sailing trip
• Donate blood once a year
• Ride in a helicopter
• Write a book
• Live the I’m Third Life in everything I do (God first, others second, myself third)

My challenge for you is to create your personal bucket list; things that maybe you have wanted to do for some time and still want to accomplish. No matter what age you are, it’s never too late to achieve some of your goals, no matter how simple or hard they are. And remember to give God all the glory when conquering them. A final thought: “I press on toward THE GOAL to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus” Philippians 3:14.

That’s my final goal – Heaven! – and I can’t wait to get there!!!

Leave a Reply

