This Is The Day!

golf“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

The spring, summer and fall of 2012 were some of the best times I’ve had in a long time. Not because of what I did or where I went, but because of where I worked. I was hired on as a maintenance worker at a public golf course. I have always enjoyed the game of golf. I’m not the greatest golfer by any means, but I absolutely love hitting a 2-inch ball to a target 400 yards away. What made it even better…..because I am a guy who loves the outdoors……was that the scenery was breathtaking, especially in the early morning of each day. I started work very early in the morning that year, making my rounds on the entire golf course, arriving at the elevated 2nd tee box in time to see the sun rising up over the lakes and fairways of Holes 6 and 7. There was usually a low fog hovering over the lakes, and if I was fortunate, I saw deer walking through the fairways. Those kinds of mornings blew my mind away. There was not a day that went by where I did not give God thanks and praise for all He has created. God didn’t create this earth for His pleasure, but for ours. He created it for our enjoyment and use, and He definitely created it because He loves us. All He wants in return is for us to love Him back and thank and praise Him for each day of life He has given us.

How many times have you driven to work with so much “stuff” on your mind that you forgot to take a few minutes to watch the sun rise, or the green grass blowing in the wind, or even watching the rain and snow fall? What better time to notice these things when you are stuck in traffic! Ha! Slow down and admire His creation (without running into the car in front of you!) How many times have you forgotten to praise and thank God for the scorching hot days of summer or the bitter cold winter mornings? Psalm 150:6 says, “Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.”

My mornings are a little different these days. I no longer work at the golf course. I am surrounded by concrete walls, steel doors, and barbed wire fences with men in orange or khaki arguing and getting into fights, shouting profanity. However, that should not stop me from praising my Lord and Savior each and every day. Even though I cannot see the breathtaking sunrises or the green grass where I am, I am still thankful to be alive and to be able to share the love of Christ on a daily basis with my words or actions. No, not every day is a good one for me in federal prison. But I can tell you this, every time I rejoice in the Lord and thank Him for another day, it makes that day so much better. Really.

Are you praising God every day? Are you thanking Him even when you are down in the dumps, sick, frustrated, or worried? Are you rejoicing no matter what your situation? Next time you’re driving about in your community or at home or in your work place or playing a good game of golf, slow down and look around. Take a few minutes to thank and praise God for the day He has created. No matter the circumstances, let us rejoice and be glad in it. It should happen in prison….it should happen everywhere.

Scripture Reading: Psalm 150

1 thought on “This Is The Day!”

  1. What an excellent and message to remind us of the greatness of God and His mercy and grace in and throughout all circumstances … good, bad, great or small. To God be the glory in everything. And, in everything rejoice and give thanks! God’s Blessings! And, I am confident that you will enjoy the best company of all on Easter … that of the Risen Lord Himself! Christ the Lord is risen … indeed!

    Date: Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:44:15 +0000 To: ddhrma@msn.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

