Prized Possession

radio_mainBefore going to bed on Monday, March 31, I prayed. Now I pray every night and countless times during the day, but my prayer this night was different. It was short and to the point. I basically told God that I’m tired and I can’t do this anymore. I’m at my wits end and need a miracle.

The next morning I got up, got fed through the trap door, went back to sleep, woke up a few hours later, finished doing my morning Bible reading and memorizing of Scriptures, said a quick prayer to start my day, then…..BOOM!!!! No, it wasn’t a bomb going off or a gun shot, but it was the trap door slamming open. Mysteriously, I heard no one rattle their keys and approach the door like when food is brought, but then the greatest thing happened! A hand appeared with a radio, shoving it through the slot. Just when I lost all hope that I would never get my radio brought to me from my personal property, it happened! This was a miracle – a much needed miracle to keep me going. I thanked God right away and immediately turned it on to 94.7 K-LOVE out of Jackson. For all of you that don’t know what K-LOVE is, it’s a Christian radio station that plays Christian music 24/7, uninterrupted. And it was just what I needed! One of the first songs I heard happened to be one of my favorite songs. It’s actually five songs in one by the band called Anthem Lights. The band compiled the top five songs that were nominated for this year’s K-LOVE fan awards and made it into one song. Every part of the song to me is so powerful and has such great impact, especially the last few lines of a Matt Maher song. Check it out!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sy-RlALmdVw

Most of you know this already, but I absolutely love music, especially Christian music. It’s something I have a huge passion for. I’m so at peace when I hear the encouraging words from God through music. That radio has become one of my most prized possessions during my incarceration, besides a Bible. I’ve been listening to it non-stop ever since it was brought to me. It has definitely put my mind back at ease, and has given me the mental strength to get through each day.

Think about it for a minute. What is your most prized possession that you have today? Is there something you cherish and take pride in more than anything else? Is there that one thing that you could never dream of being without or giving up? Some of you can probably come up with that one thing – no problem! For others it might take some time to think about. I know for me, living back on the streets a few years ago, I had many things that I couldn’t give up and not live without. If I was asked to eliminate everything except for that one item, it would be hard to do. One more question now: Would it hurt or upset you to get rid of that item?

Now look at what God did. He gave up His most prized possession – His Son Jesus. Romans 8:32 says “He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all.” Consider the pain God endured watching His Son go through torture and His death. Would you be able to sacrifice one of your kids? Think of Abraham in Genesis 22. He was about to sacrifice his son Isaac because God told Him to. God finally stopped him but Abraham was obedient and willing. Oh, here’s a much simpler question: Would you be able to drop everything to follow Jesus? If God asked you right now to leave everything and come and follow Him, would and could you do it? Even if it meant leaving your phone behind!! “And everyone who has left house or brother or sister or father or mother or children or fields for My sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.” Matthew 19:29-30. It’s a tough question, I know. But would you be willing to leave everything, even your most prized possession to follow Him? I pray your answer is YES!

One more thing I forgot to say. Radio reception inside concrete cell walls is non-existence. I can faintly pick up one other country station. But for some reason, the Christian station comes in crystal clear 24 hours a day! God’s richest blessings to you all.

5 thoughts on “Prized Possession”

  1. Hi Linda,
    I just read Craig’s blog for the first time. It is great to see that the Lord is protecting him. Psalm 91 is one of my life verses. When I am overwhelmed by the circumstances of life I recite this verse. I will send Craig a book or two, any special titles you know of? You can email me if you have any ideas. My personal email is lyost75@gmail.com, I am only using the yahoo email for coupons and other websites.
    Blessings and Strength to you!
    Lori

    Like

  2. What a witness!!! I am so thankful for the blessings of God yet while in prison! Yes, Craig, you truly are chained .. but free!!! We ALL need Jesus Apart from Him we can do nothing and are nothing!!! Press on! -Darlene Date: Sun, 13 Apr 2014 18:10:42 +0000 To: ddhrma@msn.com

    Like

  3. Craig, How do you have access to your blog? Do you have a computer? I’m so glad you have a radio and it works! God is good. Happy Easter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

